What do you guys think of this as a first track bike? '06 600RR

streetroc85350

Hey guys, new member here. I have a lot of experience riding on the street but have never done a track day before. I was hoping to make it to the Barber track day in Alabama next month. I don't have a bike at the moment but would really like a Honda CBR since that is what I have the most experience with. I've been looking at this one but would like some advice from people who have more track day experience. I know the '07+ models are lighter and have more power but this one appears to be in decent shape and the price is right. What do y'all think? Would this be a good choice?

Edit: I can't post the link to the craigslist ad for some reason. However it's the only red and black '06 600rr on the Atlanta craigslist right now. Says it needs fork seals and brake pads. Asking $3200. Seem like a good candidate for a track bike?

streetroc85350

Yeah that's the one. Thanks for posting the link!

How hard is it to do fork seals? I'm a little skeptical of the price and the fact that it has been up for over a month. Guy says it has a clear title though. I'm thinking that keeping it titled and tagged for street use would make it easier to sell later although I don't see myself riding on the street again. Too many cage drivers on their phones

Is there anything else I would need to do to get it to pass tech inspection? The tires look ok for street use but I don't know what the track techs are looking for.

Aaron Meade

As a fellow track noob, I’d heavily consider. Blown fork seals could mean excessive wheelies. See if you can get an idea about its maintenance schedule. I’d rather buy a bike with higher mileage that had been rigorously maintained than a low mileage bike that has been “rode hard and put up wet”. Fork seals are easy on a right side up fork, never done them on a usd.