Question about brake fluid

Jgelack

I try to change my brake fluid every spring. Since I'm planning on taking my bike to the track this year, Ive been trying to decide if I should change to another brand. I've been running Amsoil for a couple of years, but have considered switching over to Maxima Racing fluid or the Motul rbf600. My question is, which is more important, the dry or wet boiling point of the brake fluid? Thanks!

tdelegram

Control Rider
Run the rbf, it’s great stuff and I have seen more people running it over any other brand, just in case you need some at the track!

bmart

Control Rider
I have been running regular old Valvoline for decades and have never had any issues of any kind. And it is very cheap and available. I change mine just before the season, and again in the middle of the season.

HondaGalToo

Control Rider
Another vote for the Motul RFB600. Been running it for years. It has a higher boiling point than other DOT 4s.
When you're looking at different brake fluids, I'd imaging the boiling point on the container is the dry boiling point, so I guess I'd go by that when selecting which fluid, as on the track, I'd want one with a higher boiling point.

Agree with bmart - change beginning of the season, then halfway through. Well, the front brakes anyway, lol. I think I still have the original rear pads.

bmart

Control Rider
Pads are another story. I (sadly) fun my fronts until they stop working (no pad left on the first of four), or darn close. I have enough miles to know when that is, so it is never a surprise.

vinny337

Vin is in...Beastmode!
Control Rider
I've used Valvoline, Maxima Racing fluid and I currently use Motul RBF600, they'll all work for you. The one thing I do is bleed my brakes and clean my caliper pistons before each race/trackday weekend.

bmart

Control Rider
:like: Cleaning the pistons and ensuring free movement is critical. Without that, all of the brake bleeding in the word won't help.

2blueyam