New member from Orlando, FL - Questions

JeremyGSU

Hello everyone,

First off my name is Jeremy and I am a new member to Nesba and I had a few questions about track days. I only started riding last May but I already have the track bug! I was hoping I could fend it off for awhile! I'm trying to scrounge up enough money to do Road Atlanta in May. I saw on the website that they recommend back protectors. Are they talking about an extra one like a Icon Vest or a Alpinestars Bionic under your suit? Or are they just talking about a back insert? I have a Frank Thomas Xti one piece with a Dainese Wave back insert that I was able to purchase. Will this suffice? I also have an Icon back protector vest at home but I'm not sure it would fit under my suit. I guess I could give it a shot if that's what they are referring to.

Also, how does passing work in the novice group? I've done nearly 40 track events in a car with Chinmotorsports but never on a bike. With a car you always give a pointby and I see there is no passing in corners in novice which is fine by me but what happens when you get to a straight away? If you're stuck behind someone for awhile or they are stuck behind me without mirrors how do they know they should pass? What if I am able to pass someone but he always out powers me on the straights? I'm just curious on how it works compared to the car world, I'm not saying I'm going to pass anyone. For all I know I may be the slowest guy out there. lol

I love tracking cars so I think tracking on a bike will be an awesome experience! Well, it's nice to be here! :D

Oh...also, I'm going to be tracking my street '04 F4i. I currently have Michelin Pilot Roads but I was planning on stepping up to Pilot Powers or 2CT's. Would anyone recommend one over the other? One guy I spoke to told me the regular PP's were better than the 2ct's on track.

Jeremy

Thanks for any replies!

lemondrop

Professional Asphalt Surfer
welcome....