New Rider experience at BeaveRun

rmadursk

I ran on Saturday at BeaveRun in PA. I've been riding for 40+ years and learned more about using (not riding) a motorcycle in one day than I have over all that time. It took the whole day but I finally got to a point where I felt like I was using the motorcycle to get around the track instead of riding the bike around the track. Let me summarize the day. If this stuff bores you and you just want to hear the ah-ha moment scroll to the end.

Session 1 - Sloppy as hell. Shifting was not working for me, bike felt too stiff, I felt like I was late on every apex, got passed a lot. It was an absolute blast.

Session 2 - After discussion with with some guys in the paddock I decided to avoid shifting. That worked well to smooth me out but made it impossible to get around anyone on the straights. I upshifted a couple of times out of turn 11/12 and with some sphincter puckering slow downs was able to get around other riders at the end of the front straight. I felt much smoother and enjoyed the session more. When we came off track and talked to the CRs one of them (couldn't tell which one with the helmets on) suggested that I shift the same on every lap. Made sense. Muscle memory and consistency definitely helps to concentrate on more important areas. CRs did a great job of highlighting the lines that would work during this session.