question about engine not starting

tiggen

The bike in question is an '04 CBR600RR. The bike tumbled coming out of T9 at Jefferson back in May. It started that day, but ever since I have been unable to get it to start. I thought it was the battery, so I charged it. Now all it does is click real fast. What does this mean? (It should go without saying that I am new to mechanical work, so please use small words.) Thanks for your help.

john

Steve

It sounds like the battery still isn't fully charged? Can you try push starting it? That would eliminate starter issues, if the battery has any charge in it. Believe me, the battery could be toast at this point.

tiggen

I would try to push start it, but the chain is off (as are the rear sets). I need to get the tires remounted before I put the chain back on (there is grass stuck between the rims and tires). Any other way of eliminating possibilities?

gkotlin

Be sure all the fuses and relays are still there. I crashed and lost a relay down on the left side under the air intake duct. The bike wouldn't start.

Your bike is fuel injected. Just because the battery turns the ignition on and fuel pump runs, it doesn't mean the battery is good. On rare occassion, the battery will have enough juice to barely crank the engine, but not enough to run the gauge cluster, fuel pump, injectors etc.

Be sure the tip over switch is still connectd and still oriented upward.

tiggen

Gkotlin,

I charged the battery (and it's only about six months old), so I am pretty sure that is not the problem. The clock on the gauge is on, but the tach needle and neutral light don't work. I am looking on ebay right now for a replacement. (Could this be a fuse? How do you check fuses? Relays?)

Also, I did remount the tip over switch on the new fairing stay. I have unplugged all the lights, so there are a number of loose wires. I wonder if this may be a problem as well. Somebody told me that I might have to clean the spark plugs. Is that really necessary?