Pitt 7/10

DethWshBkr

It's funny you say that about the lack of structure. That is actually how I learned a ton.
There were many times I had to push way beyond my comfort level to try to hang with some guys that would blow by me. Every once in awhile I would go down as a result of that. But it also helped teach me how fast I could go, and it helped me to understand how fast I needed to go for certain jumps. I remember one time I was behind a pair of guys that were far faster than me. After they would drop me I would actually cut the course and come back in behind them for the straightaway, into a left hand sweeper to an 80 ft double. Jumped that double four or five times until I just slightly messed up and cased it. Two black eyes, but I learned a ton, and after that I was able to jump a lot more. That then got my overall track speed up, which then necessitated me being faster through corners. Eventually to where I was an expert class. Lots of hospital visits in between though!!!

HondaGalToo

Control Rider
Agree, you're not coming across whiny at all. Also agree with erring on the side of caution if you can't pass. We stress to "pass for the comfort of the rider you are passing".

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but even in Novice, I think you can set someone up so that as you pass the apex and the bikes are straightening up, you can then pass on the inside, as the bikes are moving away from each other. It's after the apex, so it's not an inside pass. The bikes will be mostly straight up when the pass occurs. So it's not an "in the corner pass" either.

I like these questions, and the desire to be courteous and responsible. That's how you get to the next level. Someone can be the quickest one in Novice, but if they are riding like an asshole and not following the rules, they ain't getting the bump. More likely they'll get to sit out a session.

Keep asking and evaluating! It's how we all learn! Appreciate the questions.

HondaGalToo

Control Rider