2018 - Acceptable Oil Filter Brands?

mdhokie

I ordered a couple Yamaha filters and will change it out, hopefully won't lose too much oil, but will probably make a mess and get oil on everything since it won't be drained. I've never tried to do it that way before. When I take it out, I intend to test the K&N filter hex nut on my used filter to destruction to see how vulnerable it is to failure. Will post the results.

jimmyz63

I have no problem throwing my unused k&n filters in the trash. Already ordered Hilfo filters as a replacement. My concern is riders failing tech for something not banned in the riders manual. I could have been one them.

MrFrzz

slow and wide
My concern is riders failing tech for something not banned in the riders manual. I could have been one them.

This.... I'd been aware of reported failures, but was under the impression it was limited to a "batch" or certain run. Already trying to thread the needle with getting my wife ready for track.. looks like I'll need to go ahead and order some oil and a filter as well.

Mike:p

Don’t be a Hero, be consistent.
I ordered a couple Yamaha filters and will change it out, hopefully won't lose too much oil, but will probably make a mess and get oil on everything since it won't be drained. I've never tried to do it that way before. When I take it out, I intend to test the K&N filter hex nut on my used filter to destruction to see how vulnerable it is to failure. Will post the results.
I keep a few large pieces of cardboard in my garage to go under my catch pan to soak up the splatter when I can my oil. You might want to get some since that might get a little messy. Just find so old cardboard boxes that you tear apart so they are completely flat. If things get out of hand you will be glad you did.

mpusch

Micah