Renting a bike for the Barber track day? Any experience?

streetroc85350

Hey guys. I've never done a track day before but I'm really hoping to make it to the second day of the Barber Motorsports track day in Alabama. (have to attend a wedding on Saturday or I would do both days). I don't have a bike at the moment and it doesn't look like I will be able to get one before then. I'd really like to try riding on the track though. Has anyone ever had any experiences with the bike rental program? I looked into it but there doesn't seem to be a whole lot of details as to exactly what kind of bikes they rent and what kind of gear you would need to bring.I have a two piece leather suit and some boots but I would need a helmet and gloves. Is renting a bike a good way to try track riding for the first time or should I just wait until next year when I could buy my own? I'm an experienced rider and have owned many bikes, I have just never done a track day. I don't know what kind of bikes are available but I think a stock 600 would suit me just fine if it would be available to rent. What do you guys think?

tdelegram

Control Rider
I just texted Emerson from Bobble Head moto, he runs the bike rental program and can talk to you about what’s available and how much. N2 also has some rental gear just not sure on helmets and gloves I’ll ping John to answer those questions. Regarding is it worth it, that’s not a question I can answer, but I am addicted to this stuff and if that’s how I needed to get my fix I would.

Dom17

Intermediate Intermediate
Welcome to the sport!

Take a look at the rider's manual for the gear requirements. Id link but my phone is misbehaving.