Another new guy needing advice

fytefire103

What’s up guys? Needing some advice on what’s bike to start out on for track days, maybe some racing down the road. A little background on myself. I’m 46 year old. 6’1“ 230 lbs. and have been road riding since I was 16. Never been on a track. Been through many of the popular bikes. 600s, 1000s and a few SV650s and FZ1s. Again never been on a track. I have been racing motocross for the past 38 years. Raced a few professional races in the mid 1990s and currently ride the +35 +40 and +45 expert classes. I have a several state and regional championships with my most recent being in 2018. I know my mx background has nothing to do with going to the road just wanted y’all to know my background. I’m not completely new at riding.

Anyway......
Any recommendations for a track/race bike? I’m smart enoug to know bigger isn’t better. I want to learn proper body position And build on that to some race craft. Got some friends telling me to get a 600, SV650 or a FZ07 but I personally was thinking about a Ninja 400 or CBR600.

Any thoughts, options or advice is greatly appreciate.

Thanks in advance.

Motofun352

Control Rider
At 6'1" and 230 , especially with your experience, I'd listen to your friends......all except for the 400. The 400 would be fun, for a while, but you might "grow" out of it quickly. The other bikes would last a lot longer, if you already own one, start there. If not, pick up a used one that's already preped. A little suspension work to fit you and you would be good to go.

JustAnotherSquid

Used to ride a motorcycle
Everyone's tastes and desires are different, but based on how you describe yourself, it sounds like a 600 or SV650 would make you happy.