Compound choice in relation to temp

buzz-06

Was wondering what dunlop suggests as far as compound choice in relation to track temp. Ive always been told the warmer it gets the harder compound you run. Currently I have a soft rear mounted up and was curious with air temps being in the 90s and track temps above 100* would I run into any issues with overheating or anything else? Steve if there is a baseline Dunlop has for compound choice in relation to temps that would really help. Thanks alot, tire is a 211gpa btw

erick1670

if you are running a hot pace that soft will turn into mush by mid-day, you are better serve if you get med to hard for your rear...

last year I did a 95+ degree at T-bolt and I knew my tire would not hold up so I baby then the morning sessions, but after lunch I went hard on them.... just got 2.5 session with a BIG warning

general rule
soft= when cold
med= when mild
hard= when HOT

I run Dunlop 209 med f 211 med r on my RC on my 600 med front/med soft rear Michelins, am about to switch to slicks

Mikey75702

I thought Steve posted before that he recommends the medium compound for trackday use.... Could be wrong. And it could change if you are very fast or are racing on them too..... But so far I have been extremely happy with my med. 211gpa's.

greeny

from what i've heard in general from the dunlop guys, they base their compound recommendations according to track/surface instead of temps.

steve p

Just got done running all day in 104 degrees with softs. Still look like new. surface has more to do with it. I'm not an expert though.

buzz-06

lplonske;203231 wrote: u ususally use hard tires in the cold