Need some suspension help

Thunderace

BIG JIM
Control Rider
I have a GP Suspension 25mm kit in my forks. The right fork leg is for rebound and the left is for compression. I am skilled enough to refresh the oil and change out some springs, but I'm having difficulty with the rebound leg.

I swapped the oil in the compression leg and installed a new spring. Everything went as planned and it's back on the bike. The rebound leg was disassembled and I installed new oil. The problem I am having is when I pump the cartridge rod up and down, I am not getting any resistance up or down. It's as if the oil is not getting inside the cartridge.

This is my first time dealing with separate functions from one fork to the other, so I'm not sure if this is normal.. Unfortunately, I did not check the functionality of the damper prior to emptying the old fluid.

Am I missing something? Is the rebound leg not supposed to have resistance? I'm just not sure if I have a bad cartridge.

vinny337

Vin is in...Beastmode!
Control Rider
I wish I could help you Bro! that's the one thing I haven't touched yet.

tad158

Astronomer not Astrologer
When you put the oil in, before the spring, did you pump the damping rod? Now I don't have gp forks or something like that...but my forks have compression one and rebound in the other. When I rebuild them I have to pump the fork with the damping rod, then check the oil height. Many times after bleeding the cartridge like that I need to add more oil.

Motofun352

Control Rider
Shop manual is your friend. Spring out, fully compressed, air bubbles removed(ie pump, let set, repeat)...set oil level to the spec (the pro-motion tool makes this easy).

Thunderace

BIG JIM
Control Rider
Removed fork cap, spring, spacer and damper rod
Turn fork upside down and empty fluid
Turn upright and pump damper, you can hear oil and air moving out of the damper
Fork upside down for over an hour, all oil extracted
Move damper rod up and down, action is smooth