Noob in VA

Hey all, so I've been riding on the street for about 10 years and always wanted to go to the track "one day" but I've always come up with convenient excuses (most based off of bad or incomplete information) to push it off. Well, last year I bought a house and came to find out that my neighbor across the street is a bit of a track junkie.

I went to a race weekend at Summit Point with him last month and have decided to pull the trigger!

One of my biggest concerns has been a fear that I may drop my bike on the track and be on the hook for replacing it. It is what it is though, and I realize now that I'm far more likely to have an off on public roads. If I DO drop it... well that's just an excuse to get race plastics and convert it to a track only bike!

I'm a long time CBR lover but I've been on an RSV-4 for the past five years. When I threw my CBR off the side of the mountain down at Deals Gap I ended up picking up the Aprilia as a replacement. The sticker prices were so close between the CBR1000RR and the RSV-4 that it was a no-brainer. So now I get to be a slow rider on a fast bike ^_^

I look forward to getting spanked by guys on the 600's!

tdelegram

Control Rider
Welcome aboard F-monkey! Regarding your concern about crashing, the chances are no greater than on the street and most likely lower all things equal. Where people get in trouble is riding above their head and not implementing feedback they get from the coaches. Since you have some experience from the street you also most likely have some bad habits that will need to be corrected to achieve a safe faster pace. I would recommend you look into the atp courses and try to do one on Saturday then spend Sunday implementing and reinforcing the good stuff. Regardless, ride you’re ride at a comfortable pace listen to the coaches