Right angle valve stems, opinions please.

Mike:p

Don’t be a Hero, be consistent.
I'm going to to put on a set of Q3s next week and I have thought about right angle valve stems. How well do they hold up at speed? Any down sides? I'm just trying to make the necessary task checking tire pressure a little easier. Any input would be appreciated, since I have zero experience with them on any vehicle.

borislav

Control Rider
You will thank yourself for doing it first time you come off the track and want to check your tire pressure while rotors are blazingly hot!

HondaGalToo

Control Rider
They work amazing! No down side, only up side! I put them on my street bike, too, Much easier to check tire pressure, and since they're metal, they don't flex. I like the aluminum ones from KurveyGirl.

Do you replace them with every tire change like you would with standard rubber valve stems?

raineman021

Eric Raine
That is the next thing I am buying when I mount new tires - Long over due. Great idea swapping them out. Idk how I have not done it already, haha - Good call Mike

D-Zum

My 13 year old is faster than your President
What everyone else has said already plus....not to get nerdy but...

Regular valve stems have a greater potential for air loss/leak at speed. When you're wheel is spinning fast it creates G-Forces, much like one of those
carnival rides does. So if you're a spring, like the one in a valve stem core, those G forces are going to cause you to compress. Air may allow be allowed
to escape.

With an angled valve stem, the spring is perpendicular to the G-Force being applied in the wheel's rotation and won't be at risk to compress.

Straight stems on car tires are generally at about a 80-90 degree angle when the wheel is mounted on the car. So straight stems work better for cars.

So angled stems for motorcycles provide both a ergonomic and functional benefit. It's a 2 for 1!

You'll love them Mike.

What everyone else has said already plus....not to get nerdy but...