Ello from Lower Bucks! and. . . a question

mromoto

Hey guys!

Giant noob to track days, but I've been riding motocross for over ten years. My streetbike, 07' R6 has been mothballed for about 2 years. I always wanted to try this and finally I am!

I'm getting everything together I need so I can catch the august NJMP (not sure which day yet) and I have a question.

I have a alpinestar racing jacket, aero hump, zipper and all. . . If I buy the pants that are compatible with this jacket, will the 3/4 or more zipper (but not a full circumfrence zipper) be acceptable?

I really don't want to rent and I'm throwing out enough money as it is getting my bike 100%, to not have to buy a suit.

Oh well, I think that's it. Can't wait to get out there!

HondaGalToo

Control Rider
Welcome to N2. A full circumference zipper is required. Not sure what you mean by 3/4? Full circumference does go all the way around, but doesn't fully meet in the front; there's a few inches or so. A zipper that just goes across the back isn't acceptable. Please also read the Riders Manual located under "manuals and forms" on this website. It'll answer most of your questions. The full zipper is for your safety.

If the zipper goes most of the way around, could you provide more details - maybe a picture?

Again, welcome. Don't hesitate to ask more questions and we'll see you out there in August!

Last edited:

mromoto

Thanks for the response. I've actually read it a couple times and that part was always confusing for me, as I thought my jacket was race ready for track days and wasn't lacking anything saftey wise.

But my zipper comes up to the inside of my hip bones, there is a 8 inch space keeping it from being "full circumfrence.

Edit: I'm at work right now getting ready to leave (Hahah friday!). I can take a picture showing the gap and see if it's acceptable.

Thanks a bunch!

HondaGalToo

Control Rider