Going back to I group from A group - Any Advice?

darth nater

Staff member
Control Rider
N2
So as the title states, I am looking for advice on whether I should go back to "I" group from "A" group. I started riding with NESBA in 2008 and rode a fair amount from 2008-2010 during which time I went from B to I to A. Late in 2010 my wife and I found out we were expecting our first child to add to the first home purchase that was already planned for 2011. These two events combined led to no track days in 2011 and I even sold my track bike since I wanted to upgrade anyway.

I bought a new bike in late 2011 and returned to the track in Spring 2012 after not riding for 18 months. It was a little daunting to jump back into the A group after that long of a hiatus and riding a new-to-me bike although I think I did pretty well overall although I never got comfortable since I didn't do that much riding. I did 4 days in 2012, of which I had warped rotors the 1st day, was taken out by another rider the 2nd day, wrecked my 3rd day due to damaged MC from being taken out, and then finally had a good day on my last day. However since I was only able to get to the track 4 times it felt like every day was just trying to shake the rust off and never really got comfortable.

Early 2013 found out we were expecting our 2nd child and also did a massive house project, so that led to no track days in 2013.

So now it is 2014 and once again I am looking to get back to the track. However I have not rode on the track since Sept 2012 and I've never had the opportunity to really gel with my bike. While I know I am significantly slower than I used to be, I still feel I am predictable and fairly smooth.