Mixing groups?

denbsteph

This very well may start a fire storm, but it is a legitimate question, more out of curiosity.

I'm new to this unbelievable addiction and have the intentions of doing this for a long time. From what I have read and heard from fellow riders, why is it at times groups are mixed with each other ie: "B" with "I", "I" with "A". Is it due to overbooking? If it does happen occasionally, are riders screened prior to getting a temporary bump for the day or weekend. :) :popcorn:

Dennis

HondaGalToo

Control Rider
nesba doesn't mix groups, with the exception of the A/I endurance days, and for those, they require the I riders to be at upper I, or at least mid to upper I. No one can ride in a group other than the one to which they are assigned, the registration site won't allow it. I have never seen nesba put someone in a different group because they were overbooked. I have, however, seen other orgs do this. No temp bumps that I'm aware of. In fact, sometimes a rider may be bumped on a sold out weekend and therefore can't ride in the new group yet.

The only time I have seen this with NESBA is a a very low attended day (rare) or the endurance days. Otherwise, havent seen it.

BZ

stkr

I have seen some other organizations mix up B and I, but usually not in A. Unless you have an A group and a Race License group.

I have never seen NESBA mix groups. You're either ready for the next group or you are not. Mixing would tend to increase the speed differential, and possibly decrease the safety margin.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Motofun352

Control Rider
On one occasion they had like 4 "A" group riders. They asked the a guys if they were willing to ride "I" and then they had 2-30 minute sessions instead of 3-20 minute sessions. I was "I" at the time. It was really cool getting passed on the outside routinely. :wow:

dlockhart5x