New from Newport News, VA

R6F4orR1

Hey all, I just found this site and forum about two days ago. I have been interested in doing some track riding for a few years but never had the money for it until now. Since I am stationed in Newport News, VA, I'll probably only be hitting up VIR, unless there is another track that is relatively close.

I have been riding sport bikes for about 10 years and have also been a MSF Rider Coach for the last 2 years. I own a '08 CBR 1000RR. I have been to Deal's Gap and some surrounding roads (I'm from that area), but I still want to get on the track where I can really push myself and not have to worry about cars, animals, debris, etc.

Right now I am looking at using my 1000RR as my street and track bike since I'll be starting in "B" and don't really plan to try going beyond "I". Right now I can't afford another bike just for track riding. Any suggestions about things I should do to my bike to make both worlds meet in the middle?

I am used to being the go-to-guy for street riding info, but this track stuff is a new challenge for me. Thanks for any input/help.:eek:

Ted

snikwad

What's up Ted.
I live in Hampton, my buddy stationed at Eustus *spelling and my other boy are heading down to road atlanta tomorrow.
Its my army buddies 1st TD. My other friend and I, its our 2nd season. Nesba rocks man. There are a lot of track guys in our HR area. Some TPM, some nesba, some both.
VIR is a nice trip, easy drive. We frequent summit pt. Its 4.5hrs away, well worth it.

In my humble opinon, you don't need a 2nd bike, score some cheap race plastics, and track that RR. They are awesome on track. My 04 is wicked fun, I can only imagine a 08, as nice as I hear they are I'm scared to ride one, cause then I'd be taking up a 3rd payment.
Anyway. Track the RR. Welcome to nesba, have fun.

R6F4orR1