New old guy - Chicago area

Joe Nardy

Hi all!

I just joined NESBA and am looking forward to my first NESBA track day 5/2 at Putnam Park. I'm 50 years old and have done a couple Sport Bike Track Time track days in the past couple years. I also took the California Superbike School a couple times way back in the 80's. I've been riding street bikes for over 30 years and spent about 7 years dirt riding prior to that. I'm a moderately aggressive sport touring rider. I'm looking forward to using track time to improve my street skills. I'll be riding in the Intermediate group. My track day bike is an '04 VFR800 Interceptor. I also own an '04 FJR1300, an '83 Suzuki GS1100E and an '82 Suzuki GS1000SZ (Katana). My wife completed the MSF Basic Rider Course last fall and is working on her street skills. I hope to get her out in an Intro track session later this year. Her bike is an '02 Ninja 250. I live in Lombard, IL which is in the western suburbs of Chicago. I hope to ride both Putnam and Blackhawk Farms this year and possibly Road America. I look forward to meeting like-minded riders and sharing some fun at the tracks.

If you'd like to see lots of pics of bikes, bike trips, and bike events, check out our photo website here.

Thanks,
Joe

smack28752

You must be talking about being old in riding experience 'cause 50 is just getting started good (BTW, I turned 50 last Saturday on the track at Barber...)

Welcome to NESBA, you will love it!

beac83

Hey Joe, Welcome. There are a few of us over-50 guys and gals here. See you at the track. I'll miss Putnam Saturday, but will be there Sunday.

fossilfuel

smack28752;51495 wrote: You must be talking about being old in riding experience 'cause 50 is just getting started good (BTW, I turned 50 last Saturday on the track at Barber...)

Hey Smack,
Are you Ian's dad? That RC51 looks familiar

nodakgus

I am 48 getting set for my 4th and 5th track days at Putnam...50 is not old at all! :agree: