Pirelli vs. Bridgestone, what's your opinion?

FlyingTigresse

I'm a real newbie to the world of sport bikes and track days, so good advice is needed and appreciated!

I ride a 2003 Kawi ZX-6R, and bought the bike about 4 months ago. It's time to replace the tires. I've heard great things about Diablo Corsa IIIs and BTO 16s. I've taken the bike to the track a few times this summer and fall, and will probably ride the bike a FEW times during the winter. I live in the Pacific NW and anticipate lots of wet roads this winter.

I'm an aggressive beginner at the track, but I'm not tearing up the tread as much as you faster riders. The hope is to use the same tires at the track the first few sessions next spring.

Any suggestions? Thanks.

JVance

Previous to ths year I ran nothing but Pirelli's. This year I spent most of the year racing and ran the Stones. I am not sure the BT016's are what you want for the track. I think the BT003 RS are the street/track tire but I could be wrong. Both are great tires but if you are going to be doing track days with NESBA there is probably not a better deal out there than buying them at the track from whoever the tire guy is in your region. The Pirellis rock, NESBA prices are great and include mounting and balancing. So I say go with the Pirelli's.

John
#607A

soxxerms

i ran the stone's 002 rs and had slip problems on 2 different tires. ( back only ) but im going to pirelli's

stone's 002 great for the street i have better results on the street than track.

just my .02
:dunno:

snikwad

I run pirellis.
But I've heard nothing but good things about them 002 stones, except for the previous post.

With pirellis, the only thing I've ever heard anyone say bad about them is that they wear out slightly quicker than most.

I love pirellis and I doubt I'll ever run anything else.
But again, they say those 002s are the sh1t, especially the fronts.

stevemcc