PUMA GP1000 -vs- A* supertech R

v13jim

Hey all, I am fairly new to track riding and i am getting together my kit for the spring. I have been trying to make a decision on which boots to buy and have narrowed it down to the puma gp1000 and the alpinestars supertech r. being that i need to be at work on monday morning ready to work and not with a cast and crutches i have decided to spend a bit more on getting top of the line safety gear. anyway if anyone has had any direct experience with either of these boots i would love to hear your opinions. I am currently leaning towards the A* because of the smooth "snag free" inner side of the boot, the puma looks like it has many potential pieces which could snag on the rearsets etc. I have experience with both brands and would tend to feel the level of quality is equal. any comments appreciated. thanks.

-jim

motostrano_2031_6868145

motostrano_2031_7600156

3c5e89736651de7134dee468eade5e6e_rough.jpg

Indoheat

i got the A* supertech r and love them. i highsided in them and and walked away with only a small scuff on them. i think the pumas look good but ive never worn them.

ta2kutz

get what fits!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i have wide feet and the a* i found to be super narrow. they hurt like hell and i got rid of them. i went with gearne but the pumas are so sweet. i have puma street boots they are a bit wider then most

headstart

I tried on the PUMA's at a local dealer and they were a PITA to get on and off due to using a full neoprene like sleeve that you had to slip through. They felt very comfortable once on, but a bit bulkier than the A*

I wouldn't want to wrestle the PUMA's on and off at trackday.

snikwad

I've tried the pumas at the store. I had a pr of supertechs, the previous generation tho. Not the R.
The pumas feel like they look, uber solid, that fat piece on the side makes your ankles feel unbreakable, but then as soon as I stood up I looked at thenm and thought, they'll surely snag on my rearsets.