Recommended starting bike

ksmit03

So I am looking to get started with track days but I can't decide where I should start when it comes to a bike, mostly on size. I've been riding for 12 years, but mostly on Harley's, and I haven't ridden a sport bike in 10 years, my first being a GSX-R 600.

My dilemma being is should I start out on something like a Kawasaki 300 which would be something good to learn on or should I just start out with a 600cc bike. Also I follow bikes on the forums and wonder should I find a bike in town and start from scratch and set the bike up as I go to what I like or would finding a track day bike already set up be the better way to go?

Otto Man

John
Control Rider
A 6o0 would be fine for you. The 300 would be fine, but I think you'll be wanting a lot more top end at a lot of the tracks N2 runs. A nice "transition" bike might even be a SV650. You'll find the v-twin power delivery to be familiar. They are extremely popular bikes to track ride and race.

Finding a bike already set up for track use is by far the best way to go. You don't have to find one that's built up in full race trim, there are plenty out there that have nice aftermarket pieces but are still street legal. That'd allow you to get more seat time on a sport oriented machine before jumping out on the track with it.

HondaGalToo

Control Rider
Agree completely with Otto Man. Can't think of anything to add except come ride with us! And do read the Riders' Manual, if you haven't already. It will go over a lot of important information that will help you get started.

Welcome!

Goldie

Yea start on a 600cc. You'll see many of us who has been riding the track for years still prefer the 600cc bike. Its a good all around bike with plenty of Vroooom. Well at least my ZX6R does. Can't really say the same for the GSXR, CBR, or R6 as they always seem to be in my rear view. Just sayin.... KAWI#1 ....lol

Sean Jordan