Which tracks?

TeamBeer

I am kind of new to track days. Did Tally and Road Atlanta last year. I really prefer tracks like Road Atlanta and Barber that have elevation changes as well as a good mix of fast straights and plenty of turns. I also did the Skip Barber Superbike school at Laguna Seca last year. I am curious what tracks to do in easy reach of the SE. I am pretty sure I will try to do VIR. What are CMP and NJMP like? What else is within a days drive of Atlanta?

kawaholic

i'm new to track days myself. out of the ones you have listed ra has the most elevation changes. i had a chance to do cmp a few weeks ago with one of the "other" orgs. fun track but pretty much flat. i THINK dirty jersey is about the same from what i've seen watching the races on tv. vir is well worth the trip. i'd have to say vir's my favorite one so far and not because it's the closest. i won't hesitate to go back to ra, i had a lot of fun there, even though it's a 7 hr. drive for me. the ONLY thing i didn't like was all the concrete walls around the track. vir has ALOT of run off room.
i'm hoping to make it to summit next year as i've heard good things about it.

Fastguy

NJMP is relatively flat. Summit Main does have a little of everything.

Another track that has some elevation change is Beave Run in PA. Not sure if its a days ride from Atlanta.

They usually have a SED there as well.

D-Zum

My 13 year old is faster than your President
Visit as many tracks as you can..you'll find you love something about all of them. Pick a new one every year, plan a road trip with a few friends who share the goad of trying out track X with you.

Every track I've been to is a lot of fun when I'm there. It comes down to resources. My time off from work and money are the limiting factors.

I drove 1200 miles to Road America about 6 years ago to miss the day due to fog..that was frustrating..but that's how it goes.