Tire Warmers

bcrunk11

I just got my first set of tire warmers and im wondering what temp settings you guys/gals use and what variables you consider when setting temp. BTW, if it matters im running 209 GPA's. Thx ahead of time!

liteitup

Well I just got some Suzukas which have 2 temp settings. I use low (135F) until about 10 minutes to go out then turn it on high (175F.) Im new to the warmer scene too. I bought some Power Ones and used them with the warmers and they worked great.

For others, do you usually turn them off at lunch time or just on the low setting?

stkr

From what I've been told...

Turn them on LOW during lunch, and then up on HIGH about 30 minutes prior to use. I have a set of dual temp Suzukas, and they have a thermostat that will cycle them to maintain temperature. During the day, I just set mine to high, and let them soak between sessions.

jas0336

I run standard Chicken Hawks which I believe are 175 deg F. I also run 209-GPAs which are supposed to run 22/33 hot. Well at full temp on the warmers after soaking about an hour, my pressure was 21/30ish...
I crashed on a particularly fast lap and after the crash truck got my bike back to the pits my pressure was around 27/35 or thereabout. Thats a good 10 minutes or so after resting in the grass. So, the lesson is, make sure you check/adjust pressure as soon as you finish your fastest lap. Then I would compare that to the pressure after soaking an hour on each setting. I'd check on low first, then med & then high. This is just what I plan on doing.
I don't know that you want them cooking on high the whole time. Maybe a lower setting between sessions just to reduce cycles.

snikwad

^ what he said, you should be checkin gtire pressure between sessions. constantly, because as you start to feel like yeah, the tires are nice and warm, you push em harder, and that gives even more heat and there goes another psi added.

Meat