Hello Everyone! Scott from Avon Indiana

u6x5839

I just purchased a 2005 R6 (Track Only) and am gearing up for the 2010 season. I will be starting out at Putnam. I have been riding Sport Bikes for 13 years and getting into Track Days now. The only question I have for Putnam is what gears to run on my 2005 R6, any info would be greatly appreciated.

beac83

Welcome Scott! It'll be good to see you out there.

For your first day, I wouldn't worry too much about gear ratios. I run a 04 GSXR600 that was set up for -1/+1 from stock when I bought it, and that's how I run it. There is so much else to learn during the first few trackdays that I don't think it will make too much of a difference. Come and enjoy! Putnam is one of my favorite tracks.

See you out there.

Trent1098S

Hey another new midwesterner! Man you're gonna love Putnam. It's a great track!

Putnam's front straight isn't all that long so I wouldn't worry about running out of gear. Most of the places you'll be accelerating out of corners will likely be in 2nd or (perhaps more often depending on pace) 3rd gear, you should have no problem keeping it in the power band. It's a fast flowing track.

u6x5839

The reason I am asking about gearing is that the last race my bike was in was Daytona, so its geared high (0 / -3), I see people are usually geared low (-1 / +2), I think I might be geared a little high for Putnam.

Welcome to NESBA. There are actually quite a few people from around the Indianapolis area on here. If you ever need any help feel free to lest us know.

Since you are from Avon if you have any questions about racebikes the person/place to know is

35motorsports.com in Mooresville.

He will be able to answer any question you have or do any work you need...

gkotlin

u6x5839;99656 wrote: The reason I am asking about gearing is that the last race my bike was in was Daytona, so its geared high (0 / -3), I see people are usually geared low (-1 / +2), I think I might be geared a little high for Putnam.