Intermediate most hazardous group?

R_Oner

Question from someone about to sign up...

I've heard that the intermediate group could be considered the most dangerous because people can sign up directly into this group without "earning their stripes".

I plan to start in beginner (even though i have many years of experience) and i don't necessarily feel comfortable with the fact that some noob could endanger me once i have moved up to the "I" group.

Can someone speak to this and help me understand how a new member going straight into the "I" group is handled? Is there any special probationary period / attention given to them to ensure that they are in the correct group?

Thanks... I look forward to riding with you all!

TwoTyres

I believe the CR's are always evaluating riders, If they see a rider who needs to be bumped, up or down they will take the appropriate action.

beac83

I'm in B so take what I say with a grain of salt.

The CR's watch everyone out there. If someone is really not belonging in a group, no matter which group, they will deal with the situation. I have seen guys who have signed up in :i: get bumped to :b: after one or two sessions when it's clear they are not in the right place. Similarly, I have seen guys in :b: their first day get bumped quickly to :i: when it is warranted.

Folly1

Very few new riders sign up in "I". It they can't hold the pace, or the race line, they stand out and the issue is addressed by the CR's.

Is "I" more dangerous? I think I might be qualified to answer this question, as I rode in "B" for almost 2 years, then 2 years in "I" before I bumped myself back to "B". The "I" group has a more consistent pace and line.