Race License

lms

Ok so this may be a dumb question, but because I'm a beginner, I don't know the answer. How do you get a race license or an "expert race license" as I think they are called? Is it simply a matter of getting bumped up to the advanced group after enough track days and then getting handed a piece of paper?

rk97

NESBA isn't a racing organization, so they don't issue licenses of any kind.

there are 2 classes of racers: "novice" (yellow plates) and "expert" (white plates). the only reason you would 'need' a race license would be to register for "A" group on your first day. and it must be an EXPERT license. a novice license is not sufficient proof of "A" pace.

you can get a race license through the various racing organizations. WERA and CCS are the most popular (at least in the midwest). they'll usually run a race school friday or saturday, evaluate you during a mock race, and then give you a provisional license for Sunday. You survive 2 races with an orange shirt (so the other riders know you're new), and you're a fully licensed novice racer.

an EXPERT license can be obtained a few different ways:

- you win a novice championship
- you petition for an expert license, and are granted one by the racing org (if you're consistently beating the novice field by 30 seconds the first 3 races, they'll probably grant you an expert license - ask Hix)
- other novice racers petition for you to be moved into the expert class (again, if you're beating everyone by 30 seconds...)

At least that's how I understand it. I've not raced. When my life insurance company called and asked me if i "race, or plan to race motorcycles in the next 12 months," I truthfully said, "no, i do not hold a competition race license."

sobottka

well other am's cant petition you to move up to the expert class no matter how much you win... not in ccs or the wera of the 90's (when I had wera experience). Pretty sure all it takes is to score 400 pts. in one season

crewnutz