Track day bike maintenance suggestions?

Trent1098S

I'm new to track days, and I'm turning my Ducati 1098S in to a track-only bike. I was wondering what differences there are in maintenance for track bikes vs. street bikes as they are run much harder on the track. Here's some questions that came to mind:

Oil changes; how often?

Brake fluid - change when pads are changed or how often??

Chain cleaning & lube; how often? (I got the wear specs from the service manual, so I will know when to change the chain out)

Is there anything else that needs to be checked more frequently? What should I be on the lookout for when checking the bike between sessions?

Any help or advice greatly appreciated!!!

Thanks,

Trent

Joe Vital

Trent,
I change the oil after every weekend at the track.
As for brakes, each bike/rider/pad is different, keep and eye on the to get to know what yours does. Pads have a wear indicator built into them. Change them when you have reached that limit. Our parts guys have good stuff they can get you. The current trend is Vesrah. Everyone that uses them loves them.

My chain regimine is the same as oil changes. Clean and lube after every weekend. Unless you have done some trackside site seeing. Then clean the chain from any dirt or grass that may have accumulated.

This may seem obvious, but I think it bears repeating. Safety wire your oil drain, filler cap, and oil filter.

One more thing, have fun and welcome to the addiction.

toptaz1000rr

i change oil very other TD and filter every 3rd...
chain .. lube and check a few days before EVERY TD to adjust /repalce /lube
personally i run engine ice and love it !!!
brakes unless i am on the indicators.. i expect to change them seasonally...if there is a problem .. then i change them sooner ..

Trent1098S

I appreciate the advice! Will spend Wednesday night safety wiring, changing the coolant and oil before Putnam.