Tuning Help...99cbr600f4

mcoble613

I've tried to upgrade my bike a bit, I've done a micron header with a jardine race no-baffle can ( not a perfect match but without any restriction, it's good right?. Dynojet stage 1 jet kit (don't even say it; I know, I'm working on the FP 1.7 RK.) Also, 4 degree timing advance, BMC race filter, other non related upgrade. It runs a little rich it seems due to the jet kit ( judging from the exhaust, soot. Why, it's rich I don't know. I've tried 87,93,100,=&110 octane fuel and really cannot feel a difference. It should be breathing well... but it feels slower than before the header, jet kit and timing change which was done all at once basically (it feels sluggish almost bogging especially from say 3rd gear up and above 8k+ rpms. Any constructive criticism or advice is greatly appreciated. Maybe i'm just getting used to it, but i swear it's losing power with everything I do. I'm just getting started with tuning and need much help. Anyway thanks. :adore:

Joe Vital

are you certain it is rich?

did you get an assortment of jets in the DJ kit? if so install smaller ones. if not get smaller ones.

do you know what the stock sizes are? with a pipe and filter i would put a main jet that was two sizes larger. for example, if the stock jets were 150s, i would put 155s in.
i would guess that honda uses kiehin carbs, so the size scheme is something like this: http://www.keihin-us.com/am/_media/pdf/jetlist.pdf

read the factory pro website's instructions on how to jet a cv carb. don't despair, there are some smart guys on this bbs and they will be along shortly to chime in.

Steve