1st Gen SV650

Amac955

I would recommend supporting the trackside vendor in your region. Usually their prices are competetive, and even if you pay a little more, you are supporting a business that will be there when you need them. You can always find something CHEAPER on the internet, but that doesn't mean you are getting a good VALUE. Lets say you buy tires or suspension from the internet, and a cost undercut of 10-15% of what your trackside provider can sell it for. But you're at the track and need advise on how to set up that suspension or what tire pressures to run. How can you expect them to supply their expertise for nothing? A good business relationship is a 2 way street. If it is always about the bottom dollar, expect to be happy with the price you paid and always dissatisfied with the service that follows.

My 2 cents

Blue By U

I agree with you.

But I just want to read on the different things that I can buy or add to my bike. (research)

I'm very new to the track and racing.

Amac955

In that case, the best things to spend your money on are good tires and more track time. I've ridden 3 different SVs on the track over the years and here's where I would spend my $$ if I were you.

At a beginner pace there are track-day only tires available, for the SV you might look at the Pilot Power 2CTs, Bridgestone BT-003s or Pirelli Supercorsa Pros. The 2cts are more street oriented, the 003s more track day oriented, and the Supercorsas track/race day oriented.

The best way to improve is to work on your fundamentals. Throttle control is first, steering a close second, brakes work comes a bit later, and then there is form. There is always something to work on but cover the basics first. Most of us want to buy our way to speed but it just doesn't work that way. When you think your form is starting to get good, have someone take some pics of you and you'll see how far you still have to go.