Advice on track bike selection, thoughts on an EX 500?

Hi, I am joining NESBA this spring to do trackdays, and I would love some advice or tips. I have a lot of on road riding experience on many different bikes, but have never been on the track. I currently ride an 06 speed triple as my main road bike. I got an 02 Ninja EX500 very cheap and was thinking about using it on the track because it is practically free. I was told by many people that SV 650s make excellent track bikes and was thinking of trying to get a salvage titled one. I was just hoping some experienced members out there could offer some advice on track bike selection, and if I enjoyed it, (which i'm sure I will) I was thinking of going into amateur racing once I got some experience and was wondering if there was a race class strictly for 500's like the Ninja and GS 500. I figured I could learn to race on a slower bike and refine my skills and then apply them to a faster bike. Would appreciate any suggestions. Thanks

lemondrop

Professional Asphalt Surfer
wowowowowo......just take speedie on the track.....blow by everyone in the twisties

hopefully, ya don't have the baby poo green one

Katie785

The sv is a perfect track bike. I would look into getting one of those - they are inexpensive both to own, and to repair. They also don't burn through tires nearly as quickly as your average 600 or 1k

There are a bunch of guys racing the 500s. I think they race them in the vintage class, but honestly I don't know. If you read the org's rulebook that you're planning on competing in eventually, you'll get a better idea of what classes you can run.

Welcome! See you out there! (as soon as this darn snow stops falling!!!)

rk97

I started on (and still own) a '97 EX500, and went out and bought a '93 F2 trackbike if that tells you anything...

There are a lot of things to like about the EX:

- cheap on tires. really cheap. like 1 rear should last 10+ TD's cheap.
- really easy to find (stock) parts