Knee Down??

geckert

First off im a newb at motorcycling in general and complete newbie to the track.

This might sound stupid but why do you knee drag when cornering? I think it owuld be to help you judge your lean angle so you dont go too far. Is it neccessary to put a knee down when cornering and is it possible to get maximum lean w/o putting your knee down? I still have not been able to put my knee down after my first TD but i think that is because my body positioning. From the pics my bro took it looks like I didnt even have me knee out although my but was off the seat and my body was moved to the inside, I didnt have pucks on so i wouldnt have been doing it anyway.

The knee down serves as a lean angle indicator and can help you recover from a front tire slide or push in some cases, but that is typically accomplished by more experienced riders who are comfortable putting pressure on the knee to push the bike back to less lean angle in hopes of regaining front traction.

Don't spend time focusing on getting your knee down. That will come with time and increased speed, which requires more lean angle to negotiate the same turn.

Seek the advice of a control rider and focus on proper foot position, butt position on the seat and especially upper body position. Weight should not be transferred to your arms if you are controlling your body position with your core muscle groups of your legs, back and abs.

Many riders who are new to the track focus too much attention on trying to drag their knee and, as a result, put their body in really poor position.

Focus on running the proper line and getting the rest f your body in the right position and the knee will eventually touch the ground as your speed increases.

Have fun out there!

Jeff

Twiztedjester55

SummitMain5-02-20087.jpg

It's definately possible to get max lean without touching knee, but not recommended. This is NOT the right way to do it.

Dug2

wow! ^ shoulders show "left" bike shows right. crossed up body