Motion Pro clutch holder -- having major difficulties

Meat

I have always had major problems with getting the Motion Pro clutch tool to hold the clutch hub in order to get the nut that holds the clutch basket off.

I ended up ruining the clutch hub on a donor motor, and then have messed up the hub on the motor that I am trying to work on (ordered new hub already). I just don't get it. I put the tool on and it just flies off soon as serious torque is applied to the hub nut. I end up really cranking the tension up on the tool and nicely mangle the hub.

I don't have many attempts left as the hub nut is getting rounded. I will also need to install the new clutch hub.

Attached is a pic of how I am using it. There must be a better way to use this tool, or a better tool. Can someone please give some suggestions. BTW: I did order an impact wrench to help out.

sobottka

i'm no mechanic so someone smarter than me should comment here but i use an impact with no holder tool and the nut spins right off.

Ruhe52

Dude impact wrench off use tool to torque back on. Yes it is a tricky biatch but um you are a um well... engineer that ahhhhhhhhh works on aircraft....... Come on man yank your nerd out.
:D

Meat

I had to break down and buy an impact. I just have too much crap and didn't want any more. But, it looks like the impact will pay for itself because I won't have to buy so much vodka to quell my intense rage.

Thanks guys.

stow

Impact driver is the best option. Seems like someone would have mentioned this by now. :D

ninjamansc

THE Comstock
Control Rider
The only time that tool has been easy for me to use was on my MX bikes. Maybe the grooves are slightly smaller on sportbikes?

There are a few jobs that justify an impact gun, and this is definitely one of them.

geekmug

ninjamansc;105048 wrote: The only time that tool has been easy for me to use was on my MX bikes. Maybe the grooves are slightly smaller on sportbikes?