New Rider From Raleigh-Durham-CH

25knots

Just joined the forum and wanted to say "hi." I'm hoping to start going to track days and am trying to figure out all the logistic (transport, prep, gear, etc.) so any advice you want to offer would be really welcome.

I've been riding small displacement sport bikes (500's) for about five years now, so I'm not an expert by any means. I'm hoping riding on the track will help me push myself a bit, and do it in an environment that's a bit more controlled and somewhat more predictable.

HondaGalToo

Control Rider
Welcome! You've got the right idea, riding on the track will definitely help you improve your skills. Check out our Riders' Manual http://www.n2td.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/N2-Riders-Manual-Ver.-2.0.1.pdf

It'll let you know the rules, how the day is run (tech/reg times), what is needed for bike prep and gear.

Ask away for any other specific questions, we're here to help!

It's best to trailer your bike to the track if you can. If you don't have a way to do that, post up in the ride share section to see if you can ride with someone.

25knots

Welcome! You've got the right idea, riding on the track will definitely help you improve your skills. Check out our Riders' Manual http://www.n2td.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/N2-Riders-Manual-Ver.-2.0.1.pdf

It'll let you know the rules, how the day is run (tech/reg times), what is needed for bike prep and gear.

Ask away for any other specific questions, we're here to help!

It's best to trailer your bike to the track if you can. If you don't have a way to do that, post up in the ride share section to see if you can ride with someone.

Thanks alot. I'm aiming to get organized to sign up for the NC Bike track day on 5/28. I've got a bunch of questions about passing tech and if there's anyone who lives in the area and would be willing to help me go over my bike to look for potential problem areas, I'd gladly pay in beer or a soft drink of your choosing.

HondaGalToo