New to the Track and NESBA, but Hooked!

erichmond

Hi All,

My name is Ed, and although I've been riding motorcycles of one sort or another since 1977, just discovered the track this summer. Took Levels 1 and 2 of California Superbike School at NJMP Thunderbolt - learned alot and can't wait to learn more! After riding only Harleys since 2001, bought my first sportbike since the late '90's this summer, a ZX-6R. I can't believe I've waited this long in my riding life to try the track, although I can't really recall being even aware of track days back in my earlier sportbike years in the mid-'80's through late '90's. I enjoy anything on two wheels - bicycle road and velodrome racing, dirt bikes, relaxed cruises on my Hog with my wife, etc, but my experiences at CSS have opened up a whole new world to me.

Anyhoo, just wanted to introduce myself and I look forward to getting out on the track to continue a new education in riding skills.

Cheers,
Ed Richmond

HondaGalToo

Control Rider
Welcome, Ed! You wouldn't have heard about trackdays in the 80s...they didn't exist then. They started on the East Coast in 1992 by a now-defunct group called Reduc Sportbike Association, at Pocono Raceway. The others, including NESBA, followed shortly thereafter.

I wish they started sooner than that, then I could've started trackdays at a younger age, LOL!

Come on down to NJMP on Sept 18th & 19th! :D

erichmond

Thanks for the words of welcome, everyone! Not sure when I'll get to do my first NESBA track day, hopefully this season yet, if my work schedule permits and I can either A) find a beginner-friendly, reasonably-priced track bike, or B) find it in me to track-ify my brand spankin' new ZX-6R! Hope to meet some of you soon at the track! -- Ed

Gorecki