Question to BMW S1000RR Owners

betarace

I have a friend who will be riding with me who is new to NESBA and track riding. He has been to California Superbike School and and a result purchased a 2010 BMW S1000RR, and I will be helping him prep the bike for the track day. I have been riding with NESBA for the last 7 years and am fluent in tech inspection requirements.

My question is regarding the headlights, mirrors and turn signals. Usually I disconnect/remove all of these items, but since the BMW is not known to me I want to make sure that this is the correct approach with respect to throwing any ECU codes when these items are disconnected/removed. Are there any gotchas?

TIA!

Z

Pseudolus

betarace;249875 wrote:
My question is regarding the headlights, mirrors and turn signals. Usually I disconnect/remove all of these items, but since the BMW is not known to me I want to make sure that this is the correct approach with respect to throwing any ECU codes when these items are disconnected/removed. Are there any gotchas?

Z
Hey Betarace, here's some advice I got from Moman when I was prepping mine. I removed the fuses for the main head lights (the parking lamps stayed on) and turn signals, removed the rear turn signals/fender, and mirrors and taped over the front turn signals and rear light because removing the rear light connector causes the same error mentioned by Moman below. If you want to look at my thread, it's at: http://tracktalk.nesba.com/showthread.php?t=24733

"Leave the parking lamp bulbs in, just put more tape in that area. If you pull the bulbs you will get a lamp fault indication which will prevent you from seeing the bike temp You can have the dealer turn the fault feature off but more than likely they are going to charge you to do that."

moman