Rear Shock

domarena33

Track Day Superstar
I have an 06 SV650 with approximately 24,000miles. I don't really have any issues with handling or wear but i can't find anything about when the rear shock "should" be replaced or how to tell it's shot. The shock has probably 2500 track miles on it. For what it's worth im running competitive WERA Novice Superstock times on this bike with an old stock suspension and S22's. I'm also still new to this so I don't know what a "good" suspension setup should feel like. I'm assuming a higher end rear shock will improve tire life and handling. I'd like your thoughts.

Otto Man

John
Control Rider
Suspension can be as simple or as complex as you want it to be. The problem with most OEM shocks is the lack of adjustability and the tendency to cavitate during hard track use. A lot of stock shocks will be good for 10-15 min but then will start to feel like a pogo stick towards the end of a session. It's also kind of opening a can of worms, because if the stock shock is soft (under sprung), putting a proper race spec shock on it will then magnify how soft the front is...so now you're adjusting the forks to match.

You don't know what you don't know. It all depends what you want to do with the bike. If you're happy with it as is, keep running it. But making changes and tracking what changes you're making is what makes you a more competent rider, and able to distinguish the basics of suspension - this bike is soft in the rear, too hard up front, doesn't want to turn, etc etc.

domarena33

Track Day Superstar
Im hoping to run it at LWT WERA Novice SS next year. I already replaced the front springs with .95kg/mm ones because i was locking the front tire up and it was handling like shit under heavy braking as it was bottomed out. I've never paid attention for a progressive softening of the rear, I'll watch for that next time im out.

bmart

Control Rider