Steering Damper Settings

D52

Looking for recommendations as far as how “soft” I should adjust my steering damper for next weekend. I’m currently a novice rider and completed 4 track days last year on my street bike (14 D675 - mostly stock). Late last fall I picked up an 07 D675 track bike with a Pitbull damper (20 clicks) already installed. I have never ridden a bike with a damper before and am not sure what a good “starting point” would be, if you will. Additionally, other than a quick ride or 2 around the block, the upcoming weekend at Summit will essentially be my first time riding the bike. On top of that, it is also my first bike that I’ve had the suspension adjusted for my weight, my first bike with GP shift, I’m without a quickshifter (at least for the time being… my street bike has one) and it's my first time at Summit.

Needless to say, my plan for the first several sessions is to just take it easy and acclimate myself to everything so I do not want to add an additional variable with damper settings at this time. What’s an appropriate range for settings for someone in my situation?

Thanks in advance!

mpusch

Micah
I have the same year Daytona, but with a gpr V1 damper. I usually run it at about 5 out of 10. Want it to do something for you without it noticeably affecting your feel (at least that's what I go by, kind of vague, I know).

I think given the quick handling of the Daytona, a damper is pretty important.

buzz-06

set it at 3-5 clicks and go have fun, if the bike becomes unruly coming out of the corners and really starts shaking its head then turn it up a little but I don't think you'll have issues. Come find me in the pits next weekend and say hi, black dodge with a black/red Suzuki

mpusch

Micah