Street tires on the track

jesse v

Tire gurus,
Last summer was my first season doing track days. (I've never done an event with NESBA, as I live in South Dakota, but I love this forum. My local track org is TrackAddix.) My bike is an SV1000 and I ran Bridgestone S20's the whole season. My theory in running a street-oriented multicompound tire was that it should yield better life, but with some performance compromises. Being a beginner, I was OK with that. However, I found that I only got 2 or 2.5 days out of a rear before it was down to the wear bars on the sides, which wasn't as long as I was expecting for street tires.

My question is: Is this normal tire life expectancy? Was i wrong in expecting more life? Other folks with TrackAddix have yielded 4 or 5 days in A-group on RSV4's and the like, running BT003's, R10's, other street tires, etc.

About my setup: Stock suspension. I set the sag and damping per Dave Moss's online tutorials, using my wife as the "dummy me" (she weighs about 15 pounds more than me). I believe I was at 30mm rider sag. My body weight is 150 lbs naked. Track pressures are 32 front, 30 rear (cold), which is what Bridgestone recommends for S20's.

This is not a dedicated track bike, but I do trailer it to track days.

Tracks are Mid America Motorplex (omaha) and Motorsports Park Hastings (Hastings, NE). Some of my faster times at MAM (at my first track weekend) were in the 1:55 range. (If you're not familiar with MAM, a race pace is about 1:45 I think.)

Here are some pics of an S20 after a few sessions at Hastings:

I figure, if tire life on the track is going to be the same between street tires and track tires, should I just go with track tires? Or, is there a problem causing premature tire death that I need to be enlightened to?

Thanks for your input.

moto1320