Taking it easy with new tires?

Pseudolus

Good morning!

So whenever I've had my tires changed, they always say "take it easy for a little bit." That seems pretty easy to do on the street for 100 miles or so but now I have a new set of tires and the bike is in dedicated track mode so I don't plan on riding on the street before the first track day of the year.

Can anyone advise on how you should treat new tires on the track and what steps you need to take to break them in, if that even applies? I have Dunlop Q2's if that helps. :)

RADAR Magnet

Well I'm no expert but I don't think there's any magic to it; think they're ready to rock after a couple of reasonable laps.

matt2212

I think that dates back to the old molding and manufacturing process with a mold release compound used in the process, warm um up and go get um ( at a pace well within your limits)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

HondaGalToo

Control Rider
As stated above, take it easy for a few laps, gradually increasing lean angle, then you're good to go. As a general FYI -What puts heat in the tire is acceleration and braking. No need to "weave" in the paddock or pit lane (or anywhere else for that matter), it does nothing and can be dangerous to those around you.

Pseudolus

RADAR Magnet;267380 wrote: Well I'm no expert but I don't think there's any magic to it; think they're ready to rock after a couple of reasonable laps.
jeff15;267383 wrote: Just take it easy a few laps then you will be fine!
matt2212;267384 wrote:
I think that dates back to the old molding and manufacturing process with a mold release compound used in the process, warm um up and go get um ( at a pace well within your limits)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
HondaGalToo;267386 wrote: