New Guy- wondering about bike classes.

DUG

Hello, first- thanks in advance.

Ive been riding with Nesba for a few years and plan to give racing a try next season. Right now I have a 2012 CBR1000 that rolls pretty good, but Ive heard that running a liter bike really limits the number of races you can enter, not to mention it eats tires like a
mother%*&@$^. My questions primarily concerns which displacements you can run in each class.

From what Ive heard, You can run 600s in any class, 750s in middleweights and above, and 1000s against 1000s only???:notsure:

Approximately how may races can you run a 600 vs. 1000 in during a weekend?:notsure:

Any maojor diffence between WERA and CCS on this matter?

I plan on building a bike this winter to run next season and am wondering the best way to go- pickup a 600 or run the 1000... This is essentially a for-fun venture and would like to have the opportunity to run it in more than just a few races per weekend...

Thanks again..

DUG

PJZOCC624

As far as the 1000, for WERA you can run in A-superstock and A-superbike, and F1 (read their rulebook for differences in superstock vs superbike, but short version is you can run a superSTOCK eligible bike in superBIKE but not vice versa). You can also run in Heavyweight Senior if you're over 40.

Yes, a liter bike will burn up tires quicker than a 600.

No, you cannot race a 600 in any class - C,B,A yes, but not D or E, also not F2 or Clubman.

How many races in a weekend? The 1000, you would qualify for the classes above, so theoretically 3 races (4 if you're 40+). A 600 about triples the classes eligible, but really, you're not running a 600 in A-superbike. You CAN, but don't.

WERA vs CCS - as far as racing "up" a class, probably the same but I've not raced with CCS.